Identity Formation and Enlargement

Work package 8


WP coordinator  

Zdzislaw Mach, Jagiellonian University Krakow


WP 8 has two interrelated objectives. First, it addresses the crucial question of how much trust and commonality is needed to establish democracy, as a means of collective will formation at the various levels of governance of the compound EU-polity. Second, it analyses the formation of collective identities with regard to enlargement processes, with an emphasis on comparing the ‘old’ and the ‘new’ member states. This comparative study is based on an analysis of identity conflicts emerging in the process of EU constitutionalisation, democratisation and enlargement.

WP 8 establishes the link between democracy and identity prerequisites in a post-national polity, produces practical knowledge on the ways of reconciling the tension between the EU’s cosmopolitan vocation and contextualised identities, and conceptualises the role of collective identities in a theory of democratic deliberative supranationalism.

More details on the research objectives of WP 8.


Publications and findings from WP 8

Research from the project is published in academic journals and books, as well as in RECON’s publication series (reports and online working papers). A complete list of publications and presentations from WP 8 is available for each year of the project.

This research group organises a number of workshops and conferences, as well as panels at international conferences. Complete list of WP 8 events.

RECON participants WP 8

ARENA, University of Oslo
Espen D. H. Olsen, Hans-Jörg Trenz

Eötvös Lórand University Budapest
Péter Bodor, Mihaly Csako, Maria Heller, Borbala Kriza, Agnes Rényi, Nora Schleicher,
Anna Wessely

Freie Universität Berlin
Cathleen Kantner,
Amelie Kutter, Swantje Renfordt, Thomas Risse 

Institute of Sociology, Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic
Zdenka Mansfeldová, Petra Rakusanová

Jagiellonian University Krakow
Zdzisław Mach (coordinator), Olga Brzezińska, Beata Czajkowska, Marcin Galent, Magdalena Góra, Pawel Kubicki, Dariusz Niedźwiedzki, Jacek Nowak, Grzegorz Pożarlik, Katarzyna Zielińska

Riga Graduate School of Law (until December 2009)
Kristine Kruma, Tatjana Evas

Sabanci University, Istanbul
Meltem Müftüler-Bac, Yaprak Gursoy, Nora Fisher Onar

University of Bremen
Ulrike Liebert